Our Board is made up of representatives from our community together with representatives from the Wagga Wagga City Council and Charles Sturt University. It is responsible for the oversight of our Conservatorium and for the development, implementation and monitoring of our policies and is accountable for these to statutory bodies and government agencies. It sets the budget for our organisation, and is ultimately responsible for our mission and strategic directions. It meets regularly and consults widely with our CEO as well as staff and our community. Our vision is outlined very clearly in our Strategic Plan (Click to download)



Andrew has been Chair of our Conservatorium for the past fifteen years. He is an Adjunct Associate Professor at Charles Sturt University, with interests in the impacts of climate change, environmental sustainability, history, and education. He has a real passion for both music making and education and has guided the Conservatorium through the massive growth and changes at the RCM, including the development of our new Conservatorium in Simmons Street.

Andrew has a great love for his family and has a wide range of interests including music making as well as in photography, swimming, cycling and just about anything made by Apple.



Robyn has been a community representative on our Board for the last six years. She comes from an executive background in business, tourism, hospitality and event management in Sydney and regional NSW. Robyn currently works in the community services sector, including advisory roles in the re-settlement of asylum seekers and refugees to NSW. She has experience in previous arts and community organisations and has a passion for music and particularly the Conservatorium’s vision of providing quality education and superb performance for all in the Riverina.

Robyn’s interests include music from the Baroque to Bono and the Bee Gees; theatre, travel, cooking for family and friends, gardening. Robyn is an avid reader; although she admits that there is never enough time for much, outside of her ongoing studies in Sociology and Community Services.




Wayne Geale OAM - Treasurer - community representative

Wayne joined us as Wagga Wagga City Council's representative on the Board. Despite his very busy schedule, he continues to make a major contribution through his insights and considerable background in community organisations. His strong support for the work of the Board comes from his belief in the power of organisations such as the Conservatorium in strengthening and enriching communities. He has been our treasurer since he stepped down from the Council and has most recently led us though through to our current status as a company limited by guarantee.

Wayne has a broad range of interests that include theatre, music (listening not playing), helping young people through the Scout Association. He and wife Barbara have two adult sons.


Cr Yvonne braid OAM - Representative of the Mayor of Wagga Wagga

Dr Malcom Allen - Community Representative


Malcolm joined the Conservatorium Board in 2014. Prior to that, he was an Associate Professor at Charles Sturt University, with a background in bio-organic chemistry gained at Manchester University. His interest in music arrived late in life and, now in retirement, is a student of piano at the Conservatorium and, together with his wife Helen, a part scholarship sponsor at the Conservatorium.

He enjoys walking, running, pilates and, when learning music allows, reading about mathematics, physics and astronomy.

Ms Danielle Wait - community representative

Mr Caleb Richards - community representative

MR Manuel donebus - community representative